taking another stab at it

August 18, 2011

It’s been all quiet on the knee front this past month. Actually, I’m sure those closest to me will beg to differ. The pain I’ve had in the last six weeks has been the worst I’ve endured since the initial days post surgery. And I think I’ve been pretty vocal about it! After an aggressive acupuncture session gone wrong and a slight misstep on a stair, things took a turn for the worst. I was back to LOL status in a matter of days.

I figured that the first pain-evoking acupuncture visit was probably an anomaly. After some reassurance from the acupuncturist that a different tactic would be used, I decided to give it another go. But after four sessions and only nominal and short-lived relief, I knew it was time to set aside the needles and try something else.

And then something magical happened. One suggestion from the acupuncturist was to try alternating ice and heat on the area. The heat could be applied with something as simple as a hairdryer! I have to admit that I am slightly embarrassed that as a physical therapist I did not think of this, nor have I ever tried it. I was ecstatically surprised that after four 5-minute ice/2-minute heat intervals, the pain magically disappeared! It was the most glorious five minutes of the last year! And then I climbed some stairs, and the stabbing, sharp pain returned. Since then, the ice/heat combination has not been as effective. I guess the novelty wore out.

This led me to my next move: a second opinion. I made an appointment with the surgeon who operated on my left knee 10 years ago. A quintessential Texan who wears cowboy boots with his scrubs and speaks with the most endearing, rock-you-to-sleep southern accent, he walked into the examination room and immediately gave me a hug. I have consulted him on a number of ultimate injuries in the last 10 years, including the blow-out last September that resulted in the surgery in October, so he is very familiar with my extensive knee history! He fired question after question, performed multiple tests, and probed and palpated my knee. He was actually able to reproduce the exact pain with a pinpoint touch, something that no one had been able to do so far. His verdict: a focal defect on the underside of my knee cap. How this defect came about is unknown, and the solution is just as evasive. However, doc suggested another round of physical therapy to target specific muscle groups and to use manual therapy to increase the normal alignment and mobility in my knee. Round 2 of PT begins today!

Although this route cannot guarantee a pain-free existence, it gives me a sense of hope that I haven’t felt in a while. Some of the mystery has been exposed, and despite my skepticism, the future looks somewhat promising.

Leave a comment